Arkansas Association of Conservation Districts

Graphic of the outline of the state of Arkansas with a pine tree and a water drop in the center.


About US

Awards and

Board Information


Calendar and

Youth Activities

By-Laws and

News and

Special Projects



Conservation Partners


News and Publications

Congressional Staff Ag Tour

On April 5, 2007 AACD hosted Hannah Smith from Senator Blanche Lincoln's Washington DC office to a tour of several sites which demonstrate conservation practices and the value of Farm Bill programs.

Picture of group standing in a field talking

Kalven Trice, NRCS State Conservationist, outlined the benefits of the Wetlands Reserve Program, a voluntary conservation program that offers landowners the means and opportunity to protect, restore, and enhance wetlands on their property through perpetual easements, 30 year easements or 10 year contracts. Those participating in the tour included Andrew Wargo III, AACD 1st Vice President; Ruth Cunningham, Arkansas County District Employee; Martha Manley, Lee County Conservation District Chairman; Dennis Carmen, White River Irrigation District; Carolyn Manning, ANRC; Jim Caudle, Anderson Neal, Mark Tidwell and Walt Delp, NRCS; Gar Lile, landowner; and Debbie Moreland, AACD Program Administrator.

Picture of group standing in a field talking

Hannah Smith discusses some of the challenges facing Senator Lincoln in the Farm Bill debate to Tommy Hillman, White River Irrigation District Chairman; Tommy Hoskins, Riceland Board Chairman; Tom Fortner and Don Vaught, Prairie County; and Walt Delp, NRCS State Engineer. Hannah spoke of Senator Lincoln's commitment to the agricultural community and her determination to fight for sound ag policy.

Picture of group standing in a field talking


Frank and Gene Prislovsky, owners of Triple P Farms talked about the conservation practices they have implemented to address water quantity concerns.

 Picture of group standing in a field talking

We would like to offer special thanks to our conservation partners for their assistance on this tour.

Thank you to Andrew Wargo III and Martha Manley for their excellent pictures. Finally a big thank you to Senator Lincoln's staff, Hannah Smith and Cynthia Edwards.



The Arkansas Association of Conservation Districts
8100 Bicentennial Road
North Little Rock, Arkansas 72118
Telephone (501) 904-5575